4th International Clinical Trials Methodology Conference and 38th Annual Meeting of the Society for Clinical Trials – Liverpool, May 2017

This week I left the grey skies of Aberdeen in favour of… Liverpool. Nowhere hugely exotic, but the weather was absolutely beautiful for the 3 days I was there.
Anyway, more about why I was there. Sunday to Wednesday saw almost 1,000 delegates congregate in Liverpool for the joint 4th International Clinical Trials Methodology Conference (ICTMC) and 38th Annual Meeting of the Society for Clinical Trials (SCT). 2 and a half days of people interested in trials, tackling subjects like: data-sharing, registry-based trials, recruitment and retention, patient and public involvement with research, qualitative research, funding, publishing, and a tonne of other subjects besides.

I’ve been to one ICTMC before, in Glasgow in 2015, but this was a much bigger version because it was joint with the American SCT annual meeting. The days were jam packed and I came home with a notebook full of ideas. Really I think it’ll take a few weeks for me to process everything properly and start to formulate my own ideas for future research based on the priorities demonstrated at the conference.

Anyway, just a short blog post from me this week – with 3 days out of the office I’m a bit behind on my to do list! As with the SWAT workshop that we had in Aberdeen in March, I’ve consolidated the majority of my notes into a sort of mind map/cartoony page of doodles. I find that this really helps me to get to grips with what’s been talked about, and ensures that I don’t leave all my notes held captive in a notebook at the back of my desk drawers.

I shared these on Twitter earlier in the week and got a really positive response, so I thought I’d upload them here too.

Leave a Reply

